Starting with the 2021 Sudirman Cup, the BWF Council voted to adopt a new format that will utilize two stages, a Continental qualification stage and a Finals stage, featuring 16 teams.

Each Continental Confederation will stage a tournament to determine the qualifiers for their continent. Badminton Pan America will host a tournament in February in the years with a World Championship, including 2021. Potential hosts for the 2021 Pan Am qualifier are Canada and Guatemala and will be hosted between February 15-21, 2021. The top team will advance to the Sudirman Cup Finals in May.

Besides the Continental qualifiers and the host country, additional teams will be added to the Finals stage, based on World Rankings.

This means the United States will no longer qualify directly for the finals event and will have to compete in the Pan Am qualifying stage.

Adult Team Trials will be held to determine who the eligible TeamUSA athletes are to compete in the continental qualifying event for the Sudirman Cup.

In the Finals stage, the 16 teams will play group play in four groups, followed by a knockout draw.

The Sudirman Cup is a Mixed Team World Championships, played every two years. The 2021 Championships will be played in China.